Old vs Archaic

Daily Prompt:  Archaic

Many people today believe that the tenets of the Catholic faith are archaic.  How sad for them.  Yes, the dogma was given over 2000 years ago, but that does not mean they are archaic.  They are unchangeable too.

Many want the Catholic Church to change their “views” on homosexuality, divorce, abortion, birth control, remarriage, and women becoming priests.  This is not possible.  Jesus Christ gave His church these tenets.

It saddens me that even some of our priests are pushing for change.  Many women have left their orders because of their perceived “discrimination” post-Vatican II.  They were under the impression that women would be given a higher place in the church.

I have had battles over the dogma of the Catholic Church.  I have battled with my kids for years about religion.  One says “I don’t need to go to a church to pray”.  Another says, “I just don’t feel comfortable in church”.  One that says “I don’t think church makes you a better person, look at how so and so acts”.  One, by the Grace of God, has returned to the church.  I have grandchildren that have not been baptized.  I am concerned for their souls.  What can I do?

My solution is to give it all to the Lord.

Matthew 6:25-27 New International Version (NIV)

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

This has become my mantra.  I know a Hindu reference.  “Give it to the Lord.”  I say it at least ten times a day.  I can tell you it has made such a difference in my life.  Not holding on to things I have no control over.  Instead of worrying, I pray and give it all to the Lord.

The tenets of the Church give us the life-saving roadmap to eternal life in heaven.  They may be old, traditional, and unpopular, but they are far from archaic.

God bless!

Wanda